Scroll Top

Kenya Signs Its Fourth Country Programme Framework For Cooperation Agreement With The IAEA

Dr. Eng. Joseph K. Njoroge, Principal Secretary, Ministry of Energy and Petroleum( Left), Exchanging documents with Mr Dazhu Yang, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Technical Cooperation after signing the Country Programme Framework (CPF) for 2017–2022, Vienna Austria ( photo Courtesy of J.Krickl/IAEA)

On 30th May 2017, Kenya signed its fourth Country Programme Framework (CPF) for 2017–2022 with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), the signing took place at the IAEA headquarter during the 60th International Conference and anniversary to mark 60 years and beyond of the International Atomic Energy Agency’s (IAEA) contribution to development held in Vienna from 30 May to 1 June 2017.

Dr. Eng. Joseph Njoroge, the Principal Secretary Ministry of Energy & Petroleum pended his signature on the document setting stage for assistance and support from the IAEA in implementing development projects in the country that apply nuclear technology in agriculture, research, cancer treatment and nuclear energy development.

A CPF is the framework of reference for the medium-term planning of technical cooperation between a Member State and the IAEA because it identifies priority areas where the transfer of nuclear technology and technical cooperation resources will be directed to support national development goals.

The CPF describes Kenya’s priority areas for technical cooperation between the country and IAEA that will require support for realization of national development goals. Country Programme Framework (CPF) will run for a period of five years starting in 2017 to 2022.

The signed CPF identified eight national priority areas that will require cooperation and support from the IAEA under the technical cooperation arrangement namely: Food and agriculture, Human health, Water resources management, Agro-environmental management, Industrial applications, Sustainable energy development, Human capacity building in nuclear science and technology and Strengthening national radiation safety and nuclear security.

Present during the signing was Kenya Nuclear Electricity Board acting CEO Eng. Collins Juma, IAEA’s Head of Technical Cooperation Department, Mr. Dazhu Yang and Director for Africa, Technical Cooperation Department, and Prof. Abdulrazak Shaukat.

The implementation of the CPF will be under the supervision of Kenya Nuclear Electricity Board which hosts the office of National liaison Officer, which serves as a national authority that plays a major role in facilitating technical cooperation between the IAEA and their respective countries.

This is the fourth time Kenya is signing the CPF agreement with the IAEA that will assist Kenya’s nuclear power programme by offering technical assistance and support in terms of skills, technical know-how and research equipment.